This page provides information and resource links for Wyoming bankruptcy.
If you are not looking for information regarding Wyoming, please use the links on the left to find information for your state.
Wyoming bankruptcy consist of one district, which is divided into two offices.
|OFFICES||STREET ADDRESS||MAILING ADDRESS||TELEPHONE|
|U.S. Bankruptcy Court
2120 Capitol Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82001
|U.S. Bankruptcy Court
111 South Wolcott
Casper, WY 82601
The U.S. Bankruptcy Code allows individual debtors to exempt certain property from creditor claims based on exemptions under either federal law or state law. Exemptions vary from state to state. Some states have adopted their own set of bankruptcy exemptions that are used in place of the federal exemptions. However, other states give debtors an option to choose between either state or federal exemptions.
For Wyoming bankruptcy filings, state exemptions are used.
Following are common state exemptions in Wyoming:
|Homestead||$10,000 homestead exemption; when two (2) or more persons jointly own and occupy the same residence, each shall be entitled to the homestead exemption|
|Automobile||A motor vehicle not exceeding in value $2,400|
|Furniture, bedding, provisions and other household articles of any kind or character as the debtor may select, not exceeding in all the value of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00). When two (2) or more persons occupy the same residence, each shall be entitled to a separate exemption|
|Books & Art Objects||The family Bible, pictures and school books|
|Wearing apparel of every person not exceeding $1,000; does not include jewelry of any type other than wedding rings|
|Furs & Jewelry||See "Wearing Apparel"|
|Tools of the Trade||Tools of the trade not exceeding in value $2,000|
|Other||A lot in any cemetery or burial ground|
Contact a Wyoming bankruptcy lawyer for more information regarding Wyoming bankruptcy exemptions.
The new bankruptcy laws enacted in 2005 also require that debtors pass a means test before filing a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. There are two ways to pass the means test:
1. the debtor's annual income (calculated using the average gross income for the six month period prior to filing) must be below the state median. Census Bureau statistics for state median income by family size can be found here (for cases filed between April 1, 2013 and April 30, 2013).
2. If income exceeds the median income, individuals may still file Chapter 7 bankruptcy based on results of Form 22A: Chapter 7 Statement of Current Monthly Income and Means-Test Calculation. .
Pursuant to the new bankruptcy laws enacted in 2005, individuals who file personal bankruptcy (with limited exceptions) in Wyoming must:
1. take a credit counseling course from an approved Wyoming credit counseling provider within six months before filing bankruptcy; and
2. complete a debtor education course from an approved Wyoming debtor education agency prior to receiving a bankruptcy discharge.
To find Wyoming bankruptcy lawyers in your area, you may want to contact your local county bar association or the Wyoming State Bar Association:
Wyoming State Bar
500 Randall Avenue
PO Box 109
Cheyenne, WY 82003
Telephone: (307) 632-9061
Based on income, free bankruptcy advice and representation may also be obtained from the following organizations: See the Wyoming State Bar's Public Assistance page for a list of organizations that provide legal services to low income clients in Wyoming.
U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Wyoming - administrative and procedural information for Wyoming bankruptcy filings
Office of the U.S. Trustee for Region 19 - oversees the administration of Wyoming personal bankruptcy cases and case trustees
Wyoming State Bar - information about the Wyoming bar, membership, ethics, continuing legal education, and resources for the public.