Bankruptcy laws and resources vary from state to state. The following page provides information and resource links for the state of Vermont.
If you are not looking for information regarding Vermont, please use the links on the right to find information for your state.
Following is the address and telephone number for the Vermont bankruptcy court:
U.S. Bankruptcy Court
67 Merchants Row
PO Box 6648
Rutland, VT 05702
The U.S. Bankruptcy Code allows individual debtors to exempt certain property from creditor claims based on exemptions under either federal law or state law. Exemptions vary from state to state. Some states have adopted their own set of bankruptcy exemptions that are used in place of the federal exemptions. However, other states give debtors an option to choose between either state or federal exemptions.
Vermont bankruptcy law allows residents to use either the federal set of exemptions or state exemptions.
Following are common state exemptions in Vermont:
|Homestead||$75,000 homestead exemption|
|Automobile||Motor vehicles up to an aggregate value of $2,500|
|Bank Deposits||Up to $700|
|Household furnishings, goods or appliances, books, wearing apparel, animals, crops or musical instruments in the aggregate value of $2,500; Also exempt: one cooking stove, appliances needed for heating, one refrigerator, one freezer, one water heater, sewing machines|
|See "Household Goods"|
|Furs & Jewelry||Up to $500; Also exempt: one wedding ring|
|Tools of the Trade||Up to $5,000|
|Wildcard||Any other property, not to exceed $400 in value, plus up to $7,000 of any unused exemptions|
Contact a Vermont bankruptcy lawyer for more information regarding Vermont bankruptcy exemptions.
The new bankruptcy laws enacted in 2005 also require that debtors pass a means test before filing a Chapter 7 bankruptcy. There are two ways to pass the means test:
1. the debtor's annual income (calculated using the average gross income for the six month period prior to filing) must be below the state median. Census Bureau statistics for state median income by family size can be found here (for cases filed between April 1, 2013 and April 30, 2013).
2. If income exceeds the median income, individuals may still file Chapter 7 bankruptcy based on results of Form 22A: Chapter 7 Statement of Current Monthly Income and Means-Test Calculation. .
Pursuant to the new bankruptcy laws enacted in 2005, individuals who file personal bankruptcy (with limited exceptions) in Vermont must:
1. take a credit counseling course from an approved Vermont credit counseling provider within six months before filing bankruptcy; and
2. complete a debtor education course from an approved Vermont debtor education agency prior to receiving a bankruptcy discharge.
To find Vermont bankruptcy lawyers in your area, you may want to contact your local county bar association or the Vermont Bar Association:
Vermont Bar Association
35-37 Court Street
PO Box 100
Montpelier, Vermont 05601-0100
Telephone: (802) 223-2020
Based on income, free bankruptcy advice and representation may also be obtained from the following organizations: See the Vermont Bar Association's pro bono page for a list of organizations that provide legal services to low income clients in Vermont.
If you are concerned about the representation provided to you by a Vermont bankruptcy attorney, contact:
Professional Conduct Board
ATTN: Disciplinary Counsel
32 Cherry Street, Ste 213
Burlington VT 05401
Telephone: (802) 859-3000
Return to Top
U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Vermont - administrative and procedural information for Vermont bankruptcy filings
Office of the U.S. Trustee for Region 2 - oversees the administration of Vermont personal bankruptcy cases and case trustees
Vermont Bar Association - information about the Vermont bar, membership, ethics, continuing legal education, and resources for the public.